Granted

This was a piece by my Father and it reads:

I slept well
I made big dreams from a well 
I pictured it all well
I woke up well
I took it all for granted
I drove to my destination
I flew to my destination
Achieved with determination
I took it all for granted
I went to school
I took it all cool
Passed many classes
Went through numerous cases
I took it all as granted
Many yearned for my reality
Many dreams and aspirations saw no reality 
I live my awesome reality
You gave all mine vitality 
I still took it all for granted
I saw the toil the soil
I saw the without a soul
I saw them get spoils
I saw their dreams spoil
I took all mine for granted
Now I am old and wise
Having traveled here and wide
Having seen many others who are wise
Who traveled far and wide
It’s not to be taken for granted
Despite life’s lessons
Despite their own hard life’s lessons
Many remain none the wiser
Many seem still none the wiser
They take it all as granted
They take it all for granted
They expect it all to be granted
Demanding it all as granted
I now take it not as granted
She must learn it’s not granted 
He should indeed an opportunity be granted 
Let us not take it all for granted
I take it not for granted

Leave a Reply

